Community Board Member of the Year 2010

Norman Webster2010 Community Board Member of the Year

Norman Webster

In 2005 RHF opened North Capitol at Plymouth, a 69-apartment HUD 202 building. This was the culmination of a long community struggle about what to do with the vacant parcel next to the church. Rev. Graylan Hagler, Pastor of Plymouth United Church of Christ, persuaded the community that affordable senior housing would be the best use of this property because it was greatly needed.

Norm Webster is a member of the Board of North Capitol at Plymouth and a very active member of Plymouth UCC. He is Chairman of the Building and Grounds Committee, the Board of Trustees, and he is a member of the Usher Board, Greeter’s Ministry, and Food Pantry. He is also a member of the Washington Hearing and Speech Society Board of Directors, AMVETS, Chapter 8, the American Tennis Association, and Mid-Atlantic Regional Board of Directors.

He is a native Washingtonian and a graduate of Dunbar High School, and he served in the U.S. Army during the Korean Conflict. He served as a laboratory technician at Howard University College of Medicine in the Department of Anatomy, and as Administrative Assistant to Dr. Donald Sewell.

Norman also lives at North Capitol at Plymouth. His hobbies include tennis, golf, biking, and skiing … pretty incredible for a retiree!

Manager June Daly writes that he has been known to use the Charter Services of Plymouth UCC to safely transport residents of North Capitol at Plymouth to and from various trips that he coordinates. He is a wonderful addition to the North Capitol at Plymouth community and contributes large quantities of canned foods to the residents. On the weekends he can be found doing various odd jobs around the building. North Capitol at Plymouth is already an outstanding asset to the community, and it is the residents and board members like Norman Webster whose efforts continue to enhance its reputation.

RHF is pleased to recognize Norman Webster as 2010 Local Community Board Member of the Year.

Share this...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter